Meet the special committees created for unique workforce-related purposes.

Executive Committee

The Executive Committee shall consist of the chairman, vice chairman, secretary (from a sector other than private) and the previous chair or vice chair.

Key duties of the Executive Committee consist of the following:

  • Act, as needed, between Board meetings, on the Board’s behalf
  • Make member assignments to committees
  • Primarily responsible for the development and review of the CAWDB strategic plan
  • Approve committee project budgets
  • Serve as Liaison with National and N.C. Association of Workforce Boards and elected officials
  • Analyze and make recommendations on state and national legislation
  • Provide orientations for new members
  • Recruit business leaders to serve on CAWDB

Chair: Brian Holland

Members: Rodney Carson, Tom White and Pat Sturdivant

Staff Support: Crystal Waters

Customer Success Committee

Committee Goal: Assist the untapped workforce in gaining the skills, competencies and credentials required for in-demand, family-supporting careers.


1. Establish a service delivery matrix for the untapped workforce population.

2. Design and pilot promising practices targeting the untapped workforce population.

3. Implement service strategies targeting the untapped workforce population.


Chair: Howard Manning

Members: Deborah Bolin, Tony Marshall, Glenda Underwood, Cindy Waite, Chip Wood, Cindy Waite

Staff Support: Jane Sterner, Malinda Todd

Outreach Committee

Committee Goal: Increase brand awareness with our stakeholders.


1. Educate and inform local, state, and federal elected officials on the workforce development system’s purpose, services and needs.

2. Provide information to help jobseekers, employees and business leaders adapt to the new realities of remote work in a post-COVID workplace.

3. Create a mission ambassador program of individuals who value workforce development to help to spread the word.

Chair:: Jerilyn Meckler

Members: Rob Axford, Rodney Carson, Brian Holland

Staff Support: Brenda Wilkerson

Sector Strategies

Committee Goal: Align demand sector initiatives with workforce system and economic development needs.


1. Establish industry advisory groups that will serve as subject matter experts on evolving and critical workforce needs for our region’s high growth in-demand sectors.

2. Identify existing industry led workforce initiatives and unite to increase knowledge and align partner initiatives.

3. Initiate and formalize a coordinated and collaborative partner network that is responsive to the needs of business and industry.

Chair: Melissa Short

Members: Joy Callahan, Jonathan Williams, Mark Bertoncino, Prem Ranganath, Craig Hagood, Michal Haley, Nicole Jarvis Miller

Staff Support: Crystal Waters

Youth Advisory Councils

Special youth-focused councils work to improve outcomes for young people 14-24 years of age.

Wake County

Michael Ballen
Raleigh Police Department
Community Police Liaison
Paul Brown
Youth Thrive
Director of Operations
Patricia Cardoso
Haven House Services
Chief Operating Officer
Michael Ellis
Wake Technical Community College
Dean of College and Career Readiness
Joy Frankoff
Wake County Public School System
School to Career Coordinator
Orphaleta Lemon-Rouse
Department of Public Safety
Court Counselor Supervisor
Antonia Pedroza
Wake County Human Services
Deputy Director WCHS Social Services
Danya Perry
Wake County Economic Development
Equitable Economic Development Director
Alicia Price
NextGen Career Center - Wake County
Youth Program Manager
Ross Yeager
Wake County Human Services, Northern Regional Center
Northern Regional Center Director

Johnston County

Deborah Bolin
Executive Director
Johnston County Youth Services
Myra Burrell
Partnership for Children
Data and Contracts Manager
Joy Callahan
Johnston Community College
AVP & Adv. Tech Workforce Development
Janet Davis
Unit Manager
Kelly Davis
JC DSS (Links/Foster)
Links Coordinator
Taylor Kirks
NextGen Career Center
Senior Manage, Youth & Transition Services
Suzanne Lujan
Johnston County Public Schools
Executive Director for Career & College Readiness
Charlene Meyers
JC Mental Health + Alliance
Criminal Justice Specialist CIT Coordinator
Nathalia Parrish
JC DSS (Adult Parenting Program)
APP Supervisor
Greg Pecy
Benson Police Department
Douglas Sorrell
Juvenile Justice
Juvenile County Counselor